A Must-Read: An Open Letter To General Muhammadu Buhari – Dr Dokun Adedeji

My Dear General,

I have tried to get to meet with you on many occasions as I have tried to write you but it has been difficult. I am sufficiently disturbed by all the happenings in CPC as well as the merger intentions with some other parties, to push my interest to seek some form of interaction. In order for you to appreciate my efforts, I spoke to Mallam El-Rufai and sent him a few texts and also sent a mail to Mr Rotimi Fasakin – all in a bid to reach you.

You may wonder what my locus standi is to go to this extent. If you do ask this question, you will be right.

I am a Nigerian professional who has followed the trajectory of our nation and also, your track along our nation space – these many years. I must confess my adulation for you for many reasons – I consider you a good man that our nation needs to put her acts right and so help us occupy our rightful place in the comity of nations.

Let me assure you that many Nigerians who truly love this country feel the same about you. But , it will be foolish to think that those who have brought us to this humiliating pass will root for you. No, they will wish that this bazaar continues to enable them make a billing enough to give them succor and protection to their offspring.

In all the ‘elections’ we claim to have had, I had always voted for you even when my friends think I was wasting my vote! I preferred to waste my vote than contribute to the ‘victory’ of those who have stolen us blind and brought our development to a grinding halt.

Nigerians have chosen to direct an unfair scrutiny at you, your past period of stewardship and poured innuendos on what you stand for without affording the same scrutiny to the Lilliputians that have placed a stranglehold on our national destiny.

General, I thought CPC was ready to put its house in order to present a formidable front to tackle these termites in power but events since then have shown the short-sightedness of the men who surround you. Alas, 2015 is almost upon us and it will take a tsunami of sort to dislodge these vultures in power.

It is now the new song in town that CPC and you are working in tandem with some other parties to arrange a merger to capture power from PDP! And this is the kernel of my open letter to you Sir.

I would rather you do not become a President holding a poisoned chalice. I am struggling to see how you can work with many of these men for the reason of becoming President. I will rather retain a memory of who you are and what you stand for even in defeats than see you as President in the midst of these gang of power-grabbers and looters of our commonwealth.

I wish you stand above the crowd and retain your respect and integrity than become a President who presides over a brood of vipers. The men who surround you today are plastic and replicas of those you wish to dislodge. Pray, General, what is the difference between six and half a dozen?

Sir, please, let them not dismiss this my appeal to you with the wave of a hand that I am an emissary of the ruling PDP. No! Nothing can be farther from the truth, I am an independent who love our nation with passion and hates PDP and her friends with coats of many colors with equal passion. I simply desire the best for my country which cannot come through PDP or the band of vampires trying to climb upon your integrity and name.

Would have wished CPC had begun to work since 2011 and be not a part of this bandwagon of political termites. In the muddied pool are men who once bestrode the length of our nation with impunity as if tomorrow – which is today! – will never come. Their antecedents do not speak to a better future for Nigeria.

I do not envisage a party of angels; neither would I pride myself in the collection of these vermins who merely seek another opportunity to rape our unfortunate nation.

My dear General, your place is not amongst these men. I would rather you remain the epitome of integrity that you are and watch this drama play out.

This is my wish for you as I am willing to add that my advice is both unsolicited and so, open to dismissal. I will not be surprised but it will pain me to see you sacrifice your hard-earned reputation and diminish your stature with your engagement with many of these men who brought us this low.

You have fought gallantly but Nigerians in our foolishness have cast you aside. Let us rue the day we forsook you and chose the present band of carpet-baggers and marauders who are alien to honor and dignity. Our experience since they ‘won’ has been like giving gold to swine!

I assure you Sir, that soon and very soon, Nigerians will re-claim their nation from the clasping hands of these thieves and locusts.

I therefore plead that you remain on the right side of history and play no part in the unfolding drama of comedy and the shameful orchestra of opportunists euphemistically referred to as merger. Many of these men want to ride on your back to stardom and the opportunity to partake of the national bazaar on another platform. They miss power and its attendant spoils and appurtenances.

Please, General, stand aloof and retain your courage and untainted platform to speak for ordinary Nigerians who ask for nothing more than to be treated with respect and consideration in a nation that they call their own.

Do you not wonder why Pastor Tunde Bakare cries to high heavens about this unholy marriage of convenience and opportunism? You should worry sir, moreso, he was your running mate!

Nigeria and Nigerians deserve more than these men and women will offer.

Chief Awolowo was never permitted the opportunity to be President but his memory speaks of respect, adoration and adulation of a grateful people. I wish same for you General.

I can understand if this letter or this medium of presentation riles you, I have no other choice.

May Allah guide you right as you make a decision for this country. Thank you and please, do have a great day.

Your friend and Compatriot,

Dokun Adedeji

 

– Dr Dr Dokun Adedeji is an Human Resources Management practitioner and a Social Worker. He writes from Lagos, Nigeria (www.dokunadedeji.com (@dokunadedeji on Twitter)

Leave your comment here

10 thoughts on “A Must-Read: An Open Letter To General Muhammadu Buhari – Dr Dokun Adedeji

  1. You are great Nigerian who love this country from your heart but history is vindcating buhari bcos many of us sees him as Antdemocracy history never die.

    Like

  2. U are an armchiar critic whose only job is 2 cast aspersions on pple who attempt to make things happen.Am sure u belong 2 Bakares church,pls remain in d church and leave politics to realists not utopian dreamers like u and ur noisy,anarchistic pastor.Cheers and pray 4 me on sunday

    Like

  3. I want to agree with Dr Adedeji but I have some difficulty here. If the Gen can pass through the muddled water of Nigerian political leadership and still stands unscathed today others, and we know them, have their hands and bodies soiled to the brim, methinks the General can use the ladder of any person or party to get to power to implement his ideas. In the write, Dr Adedeji acknowledged the incorruptibility and inviolability of the General’s ideals. That invariably means that whosoever he may need to associate with or whose ladder he may use to get to power, he can never be tainted, the General cannot be tainted. Let us face it realistically, nigeria political landscape is still centrifugal to a large extent. That being the case, how does the CPC penetrate the South West that is still largely controlled by the ACN without alliance with the ACN. Ditto for other geo political zones of the country. To my mind, the alliance is still very necessary to capture power from the hegemonic and demonic hold of the PDP. Although it didn’t work, but if alliance is not necessary, Chief Awolowo whom Dr Adedeji referred to with fond memories would not have repeatedly attempted it. I think we still need it now, if the dramatis personnel of it will get their acts right. God bless.

    Like

  4. Dr. Dokun Adedeji. May the good Lord bless you. I will have to talk to you privately on this open letter. You made my day with this letter. I am a strong and passionate admirer of General Muhammad Buhari. I supported him in 2011 and I will support him again. Just like you I am strongly opposed to the APC merger and I have expressed my opinion directly to some CPC members behind the merger. What I have not done, unlike you, is to write an open letter to General Muhammad Buhari . Once again, thank you for this letter and may God bless you.For some reason I remain hopeful that God will be merciful to General Muhammad Buhari so much so that even if it at the eleventh hour something will happen that will take him out of the muddled waters of APC.This is my hope and I have an assurance that God will hear my prayers concerning the good genera.

    Like

  5. Dr. Dokun Adedeji. May the good Lord bless you. I will have to talk to you privately on this open letter. You made my day with this letter. I am a strong and passionate admirer of General Muhammad Buhari. I supported him in 2011 and I will support him again. Just like you I am strongly opposed to the APC merger and I have expressed my opinion directly to some CPC members behind the merger. What I have not done, unlike you, is to write an open letter to General Muhammad Buhari . Once again, thank you for this letter and may God bless you.For some reason I remain hopeful that God will be merciful to General Muhammad Buhari so much so that even if it at the eleventh hour something will happen that will take him out of the muddled waters of APC.This is my hope and I have an assurance that God will hear my prayers concerning the good general

    .

    Like

  6. Though you have made some symbolic reasoning, but you have, in my opinion, ignored the actual essence. I know you will agree with me that, politics is a game of numbers, often referred to as majoritism. Therefore, to disengage these CLEPTOCRATS from power required the support of both the good guys and the bad ones, in other to make the majority needed, to defeat the peedeepeegs in this country. Moreover, for any politician to only stick to the good guys for a victory in election, I think that will equals a fantasy in a wonderland.

    Like

  7. Dr Dokun,you letter is decent but you are wrong.I am very sure you are one of the hired distractors.Infact,i must say,you are a private agent of PDP.Look! I dont belong to any of these political parties but i welcome the merger.Leave the merger alone,pray for the merger and encourage the merger.Do whatever you can do within your power to the success of the merger.

    Like

  8. Dear Dr Adedeji,your fear is justified. To attain the high moral pedestal that you have presented, the general did not work with angels. He worked with other like-minded Nigerians, like Babatunde Idiagbon, for example, and they produced some of the results we are pointing at today. I will rather pray that the Lord will grant him the wisdom and vision to know his friends even if they exist in PDP who will work with him to lift Nigeria out of the abyss into the committee of resoectable nations.

    Like

  9. Only deep thinking people, attentive and not bias will see Buhari
    as a man of integrity, honest and ready to fight corruption starting
    from our ministries and the nation at large. But sorry, some
    Nigerians re not reading the General well. I believe in him and hope
    he’s able to lead this nation. We voted for deceit, liars, vulture and
    that’s what we re having in this present administration. May God save
    us from tribalism,religion upheaval,favourtism etc

    Like

  10. Mr Adedoyin I will appreciate your effort to have written this open letter to our messiah general Buhari, you have patiently showed your love to him but,you are not getting right by telling CPC not to to engage in any merger with other progressive parties, you sound like judas that want to pull down the glory of this nation. I therefore believe that only the merger of progressive parties would salvage our dear counrty from the hand of PDP.

    Like

Leave a Reply

